The Orange Tabby That Stole My Heart.

Where are all my cat moms and cat dads?

An Orange Tabby Name GYNN, image provided by the author

Guys…… isn't he such a cutie!!!!!! I just want to squeeze him so much!!!!!!

A few months ago, in March, we took our pups to the vet for their annual shots and medicated baths. When the pups were all done and when we went to check out at the receptionist, one of the nurses told us that a stray cat had given birth to some kittens in one of their kennels. She then asked if we wanted to adopt one or if we know of anyone that wanted a kitten.

My heart flickered with a little bit of joy and a little bit of hesitation. Yes, we wanted to get a kitten so our pups could nurse it and raise it as their own. We had been talking about it for a while but didn't decide on when. We even made plans several times to go to the shelters but it just never happened. But I also felt I little perplexed in my stomach from the hesitation to respond.

You see I have been looking for a very specific type of cat. So I didn't want to say yes to a kitten that wasn't what I wanted and end up feeling conflicted about it. Plus I only want one cat, and If it wasn't my preferred type of cat, it could probably start a series of me bringing home kittens until I found the one I wanted. I do love cats, especially when they are at the kitten stage. It's almost impossible to resist…

--

--

Jodian Marie Thomas, MS, Bsc, Asc

Research Coordinator and Experimental Physicist. My love for reading, communicating, sharing thoughts, ideas, advice and little ‘picker-upers’ brought me here.